• The best teachers are those who show you where to look, but don’t tell you what to see.
    — Alexandra K. Trenfor

Getting Started --

Discussion in 'Homeschooling/Unschooling Support' started by Jennifer Marr, Oct 16, 2016.

1. Jennifer Marr

Jennifer Marr New Member

We are in Crosby. I have 4 kids. My oldest, a boy, wants to be homeschooled. I am super nervous I'm going to screw his education up. One of my daughters is in a local private school because she has really struggled in the public school. Because I feel like my son would be able to "bounce" back into the public I was thinking of trying homeschooling with him first. I think she NEEDS to be homeschooled. She has ADHD and Oppositional Defiance Disorder.

I have a bachelors of science in math, but I'm just not sure I can teach my kids enough to be successful in college. I'm wondering how hard is it to un-enroll your kids from the public school and then say you realize you just can't do it, put them back in public schools? I really want this to work, as does my son, but I'm still really nervous. There are so many programs to help homeschool your child, but some are very expensive. Any suggestions on programs that won't break the bank for my 4 kids that will actually give us a foundation to work from.

Thanks for any help!

2. TexMom

TexMom 25+ Posts Admin

Hi Jennifer,

It can be super scary to take your kids out of public school. I believe anyone who has had kids in school and then taken them out to homeschool is going to be nervous.

I would suggest that when you take him out (and if you take your daughter out as well) that you start off with an extended period of deschooling. If you google it, you'll find lots of information about it. There is an article on the website about deschooling. I will offer you a few links to others as well:

http://www.texasunschoolers.com/2014/deschooling-why-its-important

http://www.unschoolingmom2mom.com/deschooling.html